The Federal Bureau of Investigation’s Control Over Weapons and Laptop Computers Follow-Up Audit

Audit Report 07-18
February 2007
Office of the Inspector General

Appendix XVII
National Security Information

National Security Information (NSI) is information that has been determined pursuant to Executive Order 12958 or any predecessor order to require protection against unauthorized disclosure and is marked to indicate its classified status when in documentary form. There are three classification levels of NSI. Each level is a measurement of the sensitivity of that information and the damage it could cause to the United States national security if disclosed. These are the only levels authorized for classified NSI:

Additionally, there is a category of information known as “Sensitive Compartmented Information” (SCI), or “Codeword,” which is afforded more stringent protection because of its extreme sensitivity (U.S. Department of Justice, Security and Emergency Planning Staff, Classified National Security Information: Reference Booklet, June 1998, pp. 1 and 3).

« Previous Table of Contents Next »